The Taste of Too Much – Clifford Hanley, reprinted 1964

Shana Tova 5773! And one of my (Jewish) new year’s resolutions is to start posting again, and hopefully with far more regularity too. So, to ease myself back in, I thought I’d (re)share this rather wonderful cover illustrated by Malcolm Carder as it’s one of my standout favourite from my entire collection of vintage Penguin books.

Somewhat frustratingly, there’s very little tell about the man himself other than he was an artist born in 1936 and both painted and sculpted. The Tate owns some of his work but am unable to find any images, which is a huge shame.

Thankfully, and according to my notes, I do own a few more books with covers he illustrated. However, as I had a massive tidy up a few weeks ago, will have to go through the boxes under my bed to find out which ones they are. Aha!

NOTES AND OTHER STUFF

I love this cover so dearly that it’s one that’s displayed on my bookshelf. And yes, that is a Hitchcock Birds Barbie on the very top shelf. More about that another time. Promise.

This entry was published on September 18, 2012 at 8:06 PM. It’s filed under Penguin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

