Blueberry Tart with Rye

Last week at work, it was pointed out that I’ve not baked anything for a few weeks, and as I actually had a weekend off, thought I’d do something about it!

The Nordic Bakery cookbook is one I often look through when I’m trying to decide what to bake, and many a time I’ve been drawn to the blueberry tart on its back cover, and finally, I’ve decided to make it.

What I love about Nordic cooking is that it features very simple, seasonal ingredients. Every summer, their forests are full of blueberries and this tart not only showcases the fruit, it’s also a surprisingly simple and easy thing to make, taking less than 50 minutes from start to finish.

BLUEBERRY TART WITH RYE
Serves 6 – 8

INGREDIENTS

For the pastry
100g unsalted butter, at room temperature
85g caster sugar
1 organic eggs, lightly beaten
100g plain flour
60g wholemeal rye flour
1 teaspoon baking powder

For the filling
100g creme fraiche
150ml soured cream
1 organic egg, lightly beaten
40g caster sugar
1 tsp of vanilla extract
250g blueberries

PREPARATION METHOD
Preheat oven to 200C/400F/Gas 6.

  • Put the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl and beat until well combined.
  • Gradually add the egg, mixing well.
  • Tip in the flours and baking powder and mix well until a dough is formed*
  • Transfer the dough to the tart tin and push/press it into the tin until the base and sides are evenly covered with a neat layer of dough. Put to one side.
  • To make the filling: put the creme fraiche, soured cream, egg, sugar and vanilla extract in a mixing bowl and mix well.
  • Pour into the pastry case, then scatter the blueberries over the top.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the filling has set and the pastry is golden brown.
  • Allow to cool before eating.

And yes, it really tastes as delicious as it smells!

NOTES

This was supposed to be made with rye flour but Waitrose didn’t have any. I substituted it with wholemeal plain flour.

**The dough was more like a cake mixture and even though a note in the front of the book stated that the doughs were far wetter than is usual, I wasn’t convinced. I added flour 10g at a time until I felt the right consistency was achieved. Feel free to ignore my advice!

The Nordic Bakery in Golden Square, London W1 is delicious. You have to go. One of it’s founders, Jali Wahlsten, contributed a walking tour of Marylebone to Max Fraser’s London Design Guide 2012-2013.

Photos my own. And apologies for such a terrible last picture. There was very little tart left to photograph once I got home as everyone at work devoured it in seconds. (The lighting at work is appalling to take photographs of in.)

Copyright © 2012 · All Rights Reserved · By Way of the Green Line Bus

This entry was published on June 23, 2012 at 8:44 PM. It’s filed under Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Tart with Rye

  1. Oooh, this has convinced me that I need to get a bag of rye flour next time I’m in Scandinavian Kitchen. I love the light texture it gives which would be lovely with blueberries. The first time I ever ate a blueberry was some picked in a forest in Norway and then served in a bowl of full fat milk. Amazing…

    • Silly me, it never even occurred to me to go there to buy some, ridiculous given it’s less than two blocks up from where I work! Be sure to pop by to say hi when you’re next there.
      Every Scandi cookbook I’ve read thus far to date always has a recipe for blueberries in milk which amuses and revolts me in equal measure!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

